Event listings

Announcements of conferences, workshops, schools..

International conference on Defects in Solids fo ... (No replies)

Igor Abrikosov
1 month ago
Igor Abrikosov 1 month ago

International Conference on Defects in Solids for Quantum Technologies

Stockholm, Sweden, June 8-12, 2020

Abstract submission at https://liu.se/en/research/dsqt2020

Deadline March 9, 2020 (23:59 CET)


The main objective of DSQT2020 is to bring together theoreticians, computational scientists, experimentalists, and martial growers working on different wide-band-gap semiconducting systems to advance the field of point defect based solid state quantum technologies. The scientific program of the conference consists of over 10 oral sessions include more than 35 invited talks from word leading scientists of the field, a round table discussion, and two poster and exhibition sessions. The conference will cover a broad range of experimental and theoretical aspects of point defect physics and related quantum technology applications, including but not limited to

  • experimental and theoretical characterization of point defect single photon emitters and qubits in wide band gap semiconductors,
  • ab initio theory of single photon emitters and qubits, and theory of related applications,
  • quantum sensing and quantum information processing applications in bulk and nano-scale systems,
  • material growth for quantum technology.


List of invited speakers:



Igor Aharonovich (University of Technology Sydney)

Stefania Castelletto (RMIT University)

Marcus W. Doherty (Australian National University)

Mike Ford (University of Technology Sydney)


Michael Trupke (University of Vienna)


Milos Nesladek (Hasselt University)


Georgy Astakhov (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)

Christoph Becher (Universität des Saarlandes)

Vladimir Dyakonov (University of Würzburg)

Christoph Freysoldt (Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung)

Uwe Gerstmann (University of Paderborn)

Fedor Jelezko (University of Ulm)

Jan Meijer (Universität Leipzig)

Jörg Wrachtrup (University of Stuttgart)


Gergő Thiering (Wigner Research Centre for Physics)


Alex Retzker (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


Audrius Alkauskas (Center for Physical Sciences and Technology Lithuania)


Romana Schirhagl (Groeningen University)

South Korea

Hosung Seo (Ajou University)


Rickard Armiento (Linköping University)

Vanya Darakchieva (Linköping University)

Jawad Ul-Hassan (Linköping University)

United Kingdom

Helena S. Knowles (Cambridge University)

John Morton (University College London)


David Awschalom (University of Chicago)

Lee Bassett (University of Pennsylvania)

Paula Cappellaro (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Nathalie P. de Leon (Princeton University)

Chris Van deWalle (University of California)

Sophia Economou (Virginia Polytechnic Institute)

Giulia Galli (University of Chicago)

Carlos A. Meriles (CUNY-City College of New York)

Rachael L. Myers-Ward (Naval Research Laboratory)

Prineha Narang (Harvard University)

Yuan Ping (University of California)

Öney O. Soykal (US Naval Research Laboratory)

Brenda L. VanMil (Army Research Laboratory)

Jelena Vuckovic (Stanford University)



Back to Event listings...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ab initio (from electronic structure) calculation of complex processes in materials